36 Comments
Jul 12, 2020Liked by Drew McWeeny

Toy Story 3 came out the day I graduated high school. I went with a group of friends for a late night screening after the day's festivities, and we were all emotionally wrecked by the end. Seeing that movie on that particular night, I felt like I was Andy, letting go of my childhood in a way.

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2020Liked by Drew McWeeny

Saw GONE GIRL five days before getting married. Much nervous chuckling.

Expand full comment

Annihilation came out about a month after my grandmother passed away from cancer. It was a three year process from when she got it to when she passed, so we had all come to terms by that point. But I remember feeling very surreal in the theater, watching this crazy Sci-fi film really hit everything that was on my mind. I don’t think I would have wanted to see something directly about cancer at that time, but something about that film’s approach really helped lay to rest all those feelings. I’m also a massive fan of anything that involves animals that eat people, so that movie is a home run for me.

Expand full comment

Not a film. But Ricky Gervais’ After Life. Hit me last summer as I was alone for a week drinking. Quit drinking that week Was a year on July 8. Haven’t had the guts to attempt season 2 but there was something so life affirming in that 1st series I almost don’t want too.

Expand full comment

Not quite on your theme, but the remastered 50th anniversary '2001: A Space Odyssey' re-release in 2018 springs to mind. I've seen it on the big screen before, but I took my two children (8 and 10) to see it for the first time, and they were absolutely enthralled. It makes you happy that in a world of 'faster', 'product' movies, that the truly classic movies hold up for the ages. The gentleman next to me said at the end that it was really lovely to see young children watch it for the first time, as he remembered seeing it with his dad all those decades ago. As we all know, nothing beats the big screen experience, and let's all hope we can watch movies together again one day in safer times.

Expand full comment

500 Days of Summer. I had just gone through a divorce, spent most of my nights watching movies, feeling sorry for myself, and feeling like I would never find love again. That film, and specifically the "Expectation vs Reality" sequence, reached into my soul and shook me out of of my pity party. It made me re-examine my role in how the divorce played out, and made me understand that relationships often make sense in our minds, but in the light of the real world, they are complicated, unstructured, and subject to all sorts of twists and turns you never see coming. Helped me start viewing my relationships through a different perspective.

Expand full comment

In 2007, as flawed as the film is, “Spider-Man 3” hit exact the right notes in Peter struggling with the person he was trying to be for this anxiety-ridden 29-year-old who was wrestling with the way his life was going.

In 2009, “Up” helped me finally feel closure over losing my grandfather with its story of a widower who wants to travel after wife died, and the scout who inadvertently tags along. My grandfather did the same after his wife died, and I was a scout, and I felt like he was in the theatre with me, sharing an adventure together, at last.

In 2014, “How to Train Your Dragon 2’s” story of a son trying to live up to his father’s sense of duty hit me hard watching it 8 months after my father died.

“Palm Springs” was so good and unexpected.

I hope everyone is safe and healthy.

Expand full comment

It's not a movie, but I caught up on the first and second seasons of Workaholics right as I graduated from college and took a job that was almost the exact same kind of job Blake, Adam, and Anders had (my job was b2b).

To say it prepared me for the mixture of delirium, boredom, and even excitement (when you got a lead) of being on the phone making cold calls for 8 hours a day is an understatement. It probably kept me sane that first year as I became pretty good at what we did.

It also created a permanent soft spot in my heart for the comedic talents of Adam DeVine, who should honestly be in more things.

Expand full comment

I think I’ve only had the opposite happen to me. The first movie I saw after my father passed away was La La Land which was fine. The problem was the trailers. A Dog’s Purpose and A Monster Calls played back to back. I just wanted to run out of the theater.

Expand full comment

Back in 2003 I was a thoroughly single man trying to start a career and moving into his late 20s wondering why I wasn't connecting with anyone the way I always thought I would. Right around this time Lost in Translation came out and the meditation on modern loneliness and ennui in it spoke to me on a fundamental level. And even though I didn't end up with Scarlett Johansson as a result, I turned off the DVD and felt a little more at peace with whatever the universe had in store ahead for me.

Expand full comment

I'm bi-polar, so I go thru ups and downs -- unfortunately at times to extremes. I was in one of my pretty bad downturns and I happened to watch HECTOR AND THE SEARCH FOR HAPPINESS.

I don't think I can really express how that film spoke to me: it's like it filled in something that I'd lost faith in and had been missing, and it was a beautiful thing to see part of the myriad of ways that happiness can be found.

I have two kids that I absolutely love and love me back, and not just because we're supposed to ... but HECTOR just spoke to me on a whole different personal level.

Expand full comment

I saw ARRIVAL at an advance screening the night after the 2016 election. Really cathartic to watch a movie about people coming together to face and address something totally beyond everyone's imagination. I think those circumstances improved my view of it, even though on multiple rewatches it's held up wonderfully.

Expand full comment

I was one of those kids who didn’t really feel like he had a place to belong in any clique or group at school. I was also a lonely guy, as it had been around 6 months to a year since my only relationship. Then I ended up seeing The Way Way Back by Jim Rash and Nat Faxon. The character Liam James plays I look at as a more introverted version of myself, and I feel for him deeply. Like his character, I tend to be pretty awkward around people, and I am him in a lot of ways. Seeing him succeed and come out of his shell by the end of the film is one of the more rewarding experiences I’ve had with a movie, and I still hold the same fondness for it. And beyond that, I think it’s a fantastic movie, and it’s one of my personal favorites.

Expand full comment

The Farewell. The perfect reminder, especially at the moment, to embrace every moment with those you love.

Expand full comment

I'm going to take "exact right time," a little differently than most.

Took our children to see The Avengers in the theater, since they'd proven themselves ready to cope with home viewings of Iron Man, and 1-2 other Phase 1 MCU films. We saw it, loved it, and walked our to our car under a darkening sky. Then suddenly...

... THUNDER ...

"It's THOR!" from one of 'em and giggles from the rest of us. Yes, that sounds like the exact right time to me. :)

Expand full comment

The summer before my senior year of high school, I got "Superbad."

The summer before my freshman year of college, I got "The Wackness" ironically enough, I saw it with a girl I had a rocky, uncertain future with.

It felt like both of those films spoke directly to me at the time.

Expand full comment

The last time it happened, I played hooky from life/work and saw the musical ONCE. It was precisely the art/feeling I needed to encounter at the moment I needed it. I haven’t had a moment quite like that since, but my life is different. Nevertheless, because I know that art can still make me feel, I try to remain in hope and optimism. I still believe that Art, capital A or not, can save me.

Expand full comment

I’m way late to this one, but MIDNIGHT IN PARIS comes to mind. I had moved to a new state in 2011, chasing something I thought was elsewhere and ended up learning the old “everywhere you go there you are” lesson pretty hard. I saw the movie alone in the theater and it both wrecked and rejuvenated me. I realized what I was feeling wasn’t the end of the world, figured out that I was looking in the wrong places, and made my way home. I still think about the film all the time.

Expand full comment

FANBOYS. My barely a year old marriage was falling apart when I got the call that a friend from back home - I had moved 100 miles when I got married - had passed away rather suddenly. Bobb had been a friend for about 10 years and STAR WARS was just one of the many things we had in common. A few weeks later FANBOYS came out. Outside of the short time I had travelling back for the viewing and services, I really didn't have any emotional support to help me deal with things. (Wife had pretty much emotionally withdrawn at this point.) I saw the film three times in one week, because there was something about it that helped me grieve for my friend and work through that time. I still get more than a little misty-eyed when I rewatch it now, eleven years later.

Expand full comment

While it's not a movie the greatest episode of television of all time, Ozymandias from Breaking Bad hit me like a ton of bricks. My wife and I were going through a rough patch in our relationship and Walter White's actions and behavior in that episode really helped lay bare just how selfish and immature I was being about certain things. I broke down crying and it led to one of the most honest, course correcting moments of my life and I honestly feel like it helped strengthen our marriage.

Expand full comment

I was having a serious mid-life breakdown fueled by having been in a toxic marriage for over a decade. I didn't think anything could make me feel better, but then I went and saw "Guardian's of the Galaxy." Then I saw it three more times. That movie is a feel-good machine; got me through the roughest three months of my life.

Expand full comment

1) Waited until Oscar Night to finally see PARASITE. Finished it and turned on the tv just before it won Best Picture.

2) Watched THE LIGHTHOUSE a few weeks into quarantine. An uncomfortably on-the-nose movie choice at a time when we were all trying not to lose our collective shit.

Expand full comment

Back in '93, just a couple months before I left Chicago to move out to L.A., I caught BARAKA at the Music Box. For me it was akin to a religious experience. Made me determined to head out into the world and experience it as much as I can. I'm still in L.A. and I'm lucky to live in a city that screens BARAKA from time to time, never fails to move me.

Expand full comment